三星/四星 

方蓁散見全書的經歷,將讀者帶回對中國文化傳統記憶——女性如何以父、以夫為尊、為天——意義不凡;男人做什麼都可以,女人卻處處動輒受限。方蓁對她自己付出的力量和她對他人付出的愛,讓我也意識到,我們需要更加珍賞我們周遭的人。

她的故事不僅告訴我們一個人必須努力才能達到目標,還教導我們必須善待周圍的人。全書顯示了方蓁對母親的孝道和母女的顧家——這也是當今極需教導和記得的事,尤其是在數位設備和科技越來越凌駕一切的時代。

三星/四星 《巾幗槍神 世界冠軍之路》不僅顯示世人可能面對的困難,它還說明克服困難需要多少力量;它告訴我們,在稍事休息後下次再試無妨。這個美麗奇妙的故事教導孩子和大人有關人與伴侶之間的愛與信任課題,也婉轉敘及她發現伴侶不忠、真相托出後,她是如何處理。

閱讀方蓁的故事,因為中國文化(過去與現在)、方蓁的人生經驗,我們會對方蓁發出由衷的同情,因此她的故事也非常激勵人心;雖然出軌、親人死亡的情節其深含的意義很難傳達給讀者,但是本書仍然通篇生動鮮活抓住並呈現方蓁的情緒、她的痛苦,以及她的幸福。

我從這本書中學到的一個非常重要的教訓是,即使在面臨挑戰時也絕不放棄——停下來稍微休息一下後繼續再試,是可以的。方蓁的故事提醒我要欣賞一切,甚至是我周圍的人事物,而面對這樣的挑戰我們並不孤單。這樣一個溫暖人心的故事,我會給四星當中最高的四星評價!

《巾幗槍神  三星/四星 的原文評論 (原文出處為線上讀書俱樂部.

zh_TWZH_TW

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Review by Jelleh, Published Feb 28, 2020

The Most Unlikely Champion is a beautiful story about Vera’s own experiences and struggles as she became a pistol champion. The story captures her struggles and miraculous experiences as her faith in God and her own strength and abilities are tested.

Vera’s own experiences that were written throughout the story gives meaning because it brings back the memories of past Chinese cultures and tradition, how women were (and are) expected to always fulfil the wishes of the men – and that they could get away with everything while we couldn’t. Vera’s strength and love, for herself and others, made me realise that we need to be more appreciative of those around us.

Her story not only tells us about how one has to work hard to achieve their goals, it also tells us a story to teach us to be kind to those around us. Throughout the story, it shows Vera and her mother being filial to their families, which is important to teach and remember – especially in this day and age where digital devices and technology is becoming more relevant.

The Most Unlikely Champion is a book which not only shows the difficulties one may face; it also shows the amount of strength it requires to overcome it – as well as show us that it is okay to take a break and try again next time. It is a wonderful story that teaches both children and adults about love and trust between you and your partner, and how Vera handles the situation when the story starts subtly hinting that she finds out that her partner was cheating on her – and then how she handles it when the truth is revealed.

This story is very interesting and motivating in the sense that one can sympathise with Vera’s story, in terms of the Chinese culture (in the past – and present), and several experiences (such as cheating, death of a loved one) which are difficult topics to carry a message across to the reader. However, this story perfectly captures Vera’s emotions, her pain, as well as her happiness, throughout the entire story.

One very important lesson that I’ve learnt from this book is to never give up even when faced with challenges – and that it is okay to stop, take a break, and try again. Vera’s story has reminded me to be appreciative of everything and even those around me, and that we are not alone in facing such challenges. A heart-warming story that I would give a 4 out of 4 rating!

Original review of The Most Unlikely Champion can be found here.

en_USEN