作者:Manthl

虽然顾方蓁的 《巾帼枪神 世界冠军之路》是作者的自传。顾方蓁把我们安排在前排,她带着我们与她一同走入她射击生涯的旅程,去看她如何利用射击来克服个人人生中的不同挑战。在这本书中,作者告诉我们她是如何经历爱子的夭逝、几乎放弃她的婚姻、如何意外腿伤与疗养,以及她如何在磨练她射击技巧的同时遇见神。这是一个鼓舞人心的故事;一个女人,尽管生在、长在一个传统的中国家庭,身形娇小,却在男性主控的射击运动世界中追求她的梦想;在朋友都已从工作岗位退休、闲着无事时,她却朝夕埋首苦练。她不仅赢得一场比赛,而且还是连连夺冠,让那些起初小看的人大大吃惊,充分显示一个人不应该以貌取人。

除了书名吸引我之外,头一件抓住我注意力和好奇心的是,作者叙述有条不紊;她叙述孩提时期、婚后生活、射击职涯的经验口条清晰,吸引我走进她的人生,而且受到鼓舞。虽然我阅读本书之前并没有运动射击的经验,但作者的写作方式让我能够理解她在这本书中所描述的种种关于射击运动的事,而且读起来不会感觉辛苦。其实我被迷住了,迷到我想更多了解这项运动的程度。我从未想过射击会对任何人产生积极的影响,但是读完本书后,我了解射击不仅只是拿枪对准别人而已。

谚语说:“一幅画胜过千言万语。”我认为顾方蓁在把跟家人和射击运动有关的照片纳入书中时,就考虑到这一点。这些照片对把人物的名字与脸孔连起来确实很有帮助,也能把她人生的射击大事透过照片让读者心领神会。

尽管我喜欢作者在这本书中添加图片,但如果图片能够在她诉说人生之际伴随所发生的事情,读起来的效果会更好,我也会更喜欢。纵然有此小疵,这本书仍不失为一个极为了不起的故事、读者读起来也兴味不减。我就乐在其中。

我深信本具备高度专业编辑水平,因为我几乎没有发现任何错误,除了两个打错了的字以外,但我的阅读兴趣未因此减损。由于我极为欣赏此书,我无法想象它得到少于四星评等中的四星。这本书肯定会吸引每一个人,因为它是一本我相信任何人都可以学到东西的书,激励人心,甚至可以推动若干人在一再拖延的事上,放步迈开。 

《巾帼枪神  虽然顾方蓁的 的原文评论见 (原文出处为线上读书俱乐部 .

zh_CNZH_CN

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Review by Mantha1, Published Jun 17, 2020

The Most Unlikely Champion by Vera Koo is an autobiography of the author. Vera Koo gives us the front row seat as she takes us through her journey into sport shooting, a male-dominated sport, and how she used this sport to conquer different challenges in her personal life. In this book, the author tells us about how she went through the loss of a child, almost gave up on her marriage, broke one of her legs pretty badly, and how she found God while honing her sport shooting skills. This is an inspiring story of a woman who despite growing up in a traditional Chinese home, and her slight stature, pursued her dreams at an age where friends were retiring from their careers and had nothing to do with the time on their hands. Not only did she win one competition, but she also went ahead and won several competitions to the surprise of those who looked down on her at first. This goes to show that you should never judge a book by its cover.

The first thing that caught my fancy about this book apart from the title, was how well the author told her story. She drew me into her life with the way she wrote about her experiences as a child, wife, sport shooter, friend, and mother. She took me on an adventurous journey into her life, and I was extremely inspired. Although I had no prior experience in sport shooting, the author wrote in such a way that I understood things about sport shooting that she described in this book, and they were not overwhelming at all. In fact, I was enthralled to the point that I wanted to know more about this sport. For the life of me, I would never have thought that shooting could have a positive effect on anyone, but after reading this book, I now know that there is more to shooting than just pointing a gun at a target.

There is a saying that goes, “A picture is worth a thousand words.” I think Vera Koo took this into consideration when she added pictures of her time as a sport shooter, as well as that of her family. These pictures really helped a lot in putting the faces to the names that were mentioned in this book, as well as matching the pictures to the events that took place in her life as a sport shooter.

As much as I liked the fact that the author added pictures to this book, I would have loved it even more if the pictures of the events that took place had accompanied the stories as she told them. This, in my opinion, would have carried the reader along better. Nevertheless, this book was still a great read, and I had an exciting time reading it.

I strongly believe that this book was professionally edited because I hardly noticed any errors, save for two typographical errors that did not thwart my reading experience in any way. As a result of how much I loved reading this book, I cannot imagine it deserving anything less than four out of four stars. This book would definitely appeal to everyone because it is a book I believe anyone can learn from. It is such an inspiring book that could even help push some people to take bold steps that they have been stalling to take all their lives.

Original review of The Most Unlikely Champion can be found here.

en_USEN