在人生的旅途中,不可避免的苦难和艰辛分化成两条截然不同的道路。一条是你跌倒了,从此放弃,任由生活的挑战压垮你;一条是站起来,在人生的沮丧之山往上爬,直到达到成功的顶峰,抓住了胜利。后者就是顾方蓁生活的缩影——一个出生在香港的移民,一个生了四个孩子的母亲,也是最不可能的黑马冠军。

四十九岁时,方蓁在男性称霸的射击运动世界里树立了自己的印记。二十二年的竞技生涯中,她走出一条成功之路,写下连冠、连胜和世界纪录。正在事业巅峰、且要频创新高时,一场意外却使一切打了问号,射击生涯有中断之虞。在成为黑马冠军之前,方蓁只是一个家庭主妇和母亲,与丈夫一起为事业打拼。她在一个传统的中国家庭中出生长大,在这样的家庭里,无人指望女人出人头地,尤其是在男性掌控的领域。然而,一条不寻常的道路把她引导到射击,从而缔造出不凡的成就。

跌倒后努力再爬起来时,方蓁的过去,包括她的身世之谜、丧子之痛与遭受背叛一一浮现;她的教养背景和她过去经营事业的财务失利经验,反倒帮助她在逆境中胜出,当然最重要的还是她的信仰力量。这些是否足以让她再创生涯高峰、抱回更多的冠军?还是她的射击道路已到尽头?谜底会在《巾帼枪神 世界冠军之路》,本书主角顾方蓁在帕尔协助下所完成的回忆录中,陆续揭开。 虽然顾方蓁的

这部真实的人生回忆录,精彩之处在于能够抓住读者的心,读者会全神贯注于书中的相关人物。随着你发现方蓁的为人——一个看似一般的家庭主妇——这位黑马冠军的基本特质,你会不知不觉的卷进感情的漩涡中。对她被辜负,你为她无怨无悔的爱感慨;面对家庭巨变和悲剧,你对她能够凝聚出何等的巨大力量而赞叹不已。最后,通过她所分享的赤裸裸细节,在各种痛楚、试炼和患难当中,她呈现出的积极、她对人生的感激,以及她毫不动摇的信念,你会为方蓁的遭遇谦卑下来。

虽有一些小失误,这本书不失为一本文笔极好的书。写作风格充满了童稚的纯真,天衣无缝的交织着一种独特的悬疑性,因而流畅无比。本书主题明显,医护照顾者、美国的移民、爱国人士、妇女和老人一定都会受到此书的被吸引。基督徒也应该是本书的对象。方蓁在书中展现出许多基督的美德,如忠信、患难中的恒久忍耐,而不是她的神学知识,因为她在写成书时仍处于信仰萌芽阶段,对神学还未完全领会。

总的来说,我非常喜欢读这本书。我喜欢本书将荣耀都归给神,也提醒我们,有时胜利更关乎我们的心灵状态和信仰,而非我们可能具备的高明战略。我真诚希望作者能够引用圣经经文来解释她对丧子等经历,提供我们参考。总之,我给这本书百分百的四星。 

.

《巾帼枪神  虽然顾方蓁的 的原文评论见 (原文出处为线上读书俱乐部 .

zh_CNZH_CN

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Review by quaintrelle4, Published Oct 7, 2020

Within the journey of life flows the inevitable stream of woes and hardships bifurcating into two distinct paths: the fall, where you give up and allow the challenges of life to crush you down and the rise, where you see yourself climbing up life’s mountain of distress, until you clutch for victory, as you reach the pinnacle of success. The latter epitomizes the life of Vera Koo—an immigrant born in Hong Kong, a mother of four, and the most unlikely champion.

At the senior age of 49, Vera sets her mark in the male-dominated world of sport-shooting, forging a 22-year path of success characterized by winning streaks and world-breaking records. She is on the cusp of leading more victories when an accident threatens to halt her career. Until then, Vera was just a housewife, a supporting business partner to her husband, and a mother. She was raised in a traditional Chinese family where there were little expectations for women to be successful, particularly in male-dominated fields. Then, an unusual path led her to shooting and to remarkable succession of achievements thereafter.

As she rehabilitates herself back into shape, she hinges on to the elements of her past, including family mysteries, losses, and betrayals; biological attributes; financial losses; and above all faith, which have paradoxically catapulted her to victory against all odds. Will this be enough for her to win more titles or will this signal the end of the road for her shooting career? That is the mystery to uncover in The Most Unlikely Champion—a memoir written by the book’s main character, Vera Koo, with contributions from Justin Pahl.

This non-fictional account shines in its ability to keep readers engrossed through relatable characters. It will take you into a whirlpool of emotions as you unveil the foundational elements that make Vera, a seemingly quintessential housewife, the most unlikely champion. You will grieve at the sacrificial love Vera bears in the absence of returned gratitude. You will be left amazed at the colossal strength she musters when faced with sudden loss and tragedy. Lastly, you will be humbled by Vera’s vulnerability—palpable through the raw details shared—her positivity, gratitude, and unwavering faith amidst a backdrop of pain, trials and tribulations.

The book is well-written with minor errors. The writing style is infused with child-like innocence intricately woven with a unique kind of suspense that makes the book flow seamlessly. Given the salient themes highlighted, caregivers; immigrants and patriots of the United States; women; and the elderly will be drawn to this read. Christians can also be counted among the target audience, arguably more so for the Christ-like characters Vera displays (e.g. faithfulness, long-suffering and patience) as opposed to her theological knowledge—which cannot be fully appreciated as she is, at the time the book was written, in the fledgling stages of her faith.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book. I loved that it gave the glory to God, and served as a reminder that sometimes, winning has more to do with the state of our mind and our faith rather than the brilliant strategy we may have. I do wish the author had used biblical references to explain some of the conclusions she reached regarding such experiences as the loss of her child. All in all, I give this book a four out of four stars.

Original review of The Most Unlikely Champion can be found here.