我是在几年前认识顾方箴女士,此后就对她好奇不已,深感她是一位生活精彩绝伦的人。我 最近读了她最近一篇专栏后,对她更是尊敬有加。顾方箴女士让我们走入她的人生、一窥她 的私人生活;她在新书里谈了些什么,也让我们先知为快。~MC

我在中国文化背景中长大,我们受的教导告诉我们家丑不可外扬;遇到不如意事,也要强颜 振作,不能到处去诉苦。我的文化背景叫我们不要随便与人吐苦水、道委屈。

但我决定要放下我的文化教养,在我即将出版的书里头剖白心声。这本书有如我的回忆录, 点到我一生中几个最重要的几个关键时刻。这本书进行了数年,现在终于接近尾声。

我非生来就有写作天赋,但是过去二十年来一直有人告诉我我有一个值得诉说的人生故事。

二十多年前我经历我个人人生中一场极大的风暴、几乎把我的核心价值观震得粉碎。之后我 花了两年看心理医师,在看诊那段期间中,医生不断鼓励我写作,也一再告诉我我的故事应 该说给其他人听,而这段时间里认为我应该拾笔写作的不仅是她一人而已。

当时,写书对我并没有吸引力;我是艺术家、是商人、是华裔美国人、是母亲、是祖母,这 些我都是,但我不是作家。我没有真正的写作经验,科技对我来说也是个难以参透的奥秘, 我甚至连读书的时间都没有。我脑子里压根儿不会排进写书这一件事。

继续阅读 | Translations:  日文 Japanese – 继续阅读簡體字 Simplified Chinese – 繼續閱讀繁體字 Traditional Chinese

zh_CNZH_CN

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

By Vera Koo, Women’s Outdoor News, Published September 20, 2016

I met Vera Koo a few years ago and have been intrigued with her ever since. It’s no secret that I think she is an absolutely amazing person. As I read her recent column, my respect for her grew all the more. Vera Koo gives us a peek into her personal life, and shares a bit of what we will find in the book she is writing. ~MC

In my Chinese culture, we are taught not to air our dirty laundry. If something bad happens to you, you are supposed to try to maintain an outward appearance of strength. You are not to let on that you are struggling. My culture tells us that we should not talk of our problems with others.

I have decided to go against my cultural upbringing. I will air my laundry in a book that serves as a memoir highlighting some of the most pivotal moments of my life. The book has been an ongoing project for several years and is nearing completion.

I am not an author by nature, but people have continually told me throughout the past 2 decades that I have a story worth telling.

After I endured a terrible personal crisis in my life more than 20 years ago that shattered my core values, I spent 2 years seeing a therapist. During that time, she repeatedly encouraged me to write a book. She thought I had many life lessons I should share with others. She was not the only person during this time that suggested I write a book.

At the time, writing a book did not seem appealing to me. I am an artist. I am a businesswoman. I am a Chinese-American. I am a mother, a grandmother. I am all those things, but I am not an author. I had no real writing experience, and technology was a mystery to me. I hardly even have time to read books. Writing a book was the last thing on my mind.

Go To Full Article | Translations:  日文 Japanese簡體字 Simplified Chinese繁體字 Traditional Chinese

en_USEN