回想自己一生几乎就像一部编写完美的剧本时,幸运之感油然而生。我人生当中当然也遇到无数障碍与挑战,但往往就在自己感到无力徬徨、不知如何应付时,就有贵人出现,一路相助。

这些人彷彿都不早不晚的在恰当的时刻走进我的人生。

节期是反省回顾的时刻,也是感恩的时刻。在感恩节前后,我开始想到在我人生不同阶段帮助过我、对我的成功有功劳的人。

我能够有今天,不是单靠我自己;我受过许许多多的帮助,尤其是在我的射击事业生涯中,射击旅程中走过的 每一步我都不会澹忘。不过,应做的不只是心裡有感而已,还应该把感激表达出来。

这些年来我未曾把感谢藏在心裡,随时都向亲友们致达谢意,但在二0一九年落幕之际,我要郑重其事,要对曾经在我射击生涯中提携我的人有所表示。

方蓁感谢……

龚老师(Jim Gong)

若非龚老师给我打下结实的基础,我绝对无法在射击世界裡闯出一片天。在我打定主意不要再对枪心存畏惧时已届中年,却从来没碰过枪。外子家一与我非常喜欢露营,基于安全考量,我希望必要时知道如何用枪。

因此我在狄安萨社区大学报名参加枪械安全初级班课程。Jim Gong是班上的讲师。他警探出身,是出色的教官。他指导我如何握枪、如何保持立姿、如何对准视线与控制扳机;牛眼标靶射击的各项相关训练他也都不吝指导。

课程结束时我想重修,他答应了。从初级、中级到高级进阶课程,我一共在狄安萨上了七学期的课,主要都是由龚老师负责教授。

多年后我见到他一次,我感谢他帮助我打下稳固的基础,让我能够展开职业射击比赛生涯。见到他时,我正处于事业巅峰,他告诉我他一直在注意我的射击表现、关注我的成功。

我希望他一直在追踪我的射击生涯发展;能把学生凋琢成器,他一定深感与有荣焉。

今年冬天我查到龚老师的地址,离我家开车只需数小时。我想寄谢笺和屈奇饼乾给他,对他悉心启蒙、指导我有关射击与基础枪械操作,表达我的衷心感激,然而可惜我查到的地址只是邮箱号码。

继续阅读 | Translations:  继续阅读簡體字 Simplified Chinese – 繼續閱讀繁體字 Traditional Chinese

zh_CNZH_CN

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

By Vera Koo, Women’s Outdoor News, Published March 16, 2020

When I consider my life and how fortunate I have been, it is almost as if I am in a play with a perfectly written script. My story has had countless hurdles and challenging times, but just when it seems as if I am in a situation I am not equipped to handle, someone enters my world who helps me along the way.

It is as if all the characters in my story come to me at just the right time.

The holiday season is a time for reflection, and a time for giving thanks. Around Thanksgiving, I began thinking about all the people who helped me at various stages of my life and contributed to my success.

I did not come to this point in life by myself. I received a lot of help, especially during my shooting career. I was quite aware of it throughout every step of my journey. However, we need to do more than just feel thankful. We should express our gratitude.

I have expressed my thanks to friends and family throughout the years, but as 2019 came to a close, I wanted to be intentional about it. I made a special effort to thank those who most helped me during my shooting career.

Vera Koo is thankful for …

Jim Gong

I would not have enjoyed the successful career I had if not for Jim Gong giving me a solid base. I reached middle age having never handled a gun, when I decided that I no longer wanted to fear guns. Carlos and I enjoyed camping, and I wanted to know how to use a gun if I ever needed to for safety.

So, I enrolled in a firearms safety class for beginners at De Anza College, where Jim Gong was my course instructor. He was a police detective and proved an excellent teacher. He taught me how to grip the gun, the stance, sight alignment and trigger control. He taught the discipline of bullseye target shooting.

At the end of the session I requested to repeat the class, and he said I could. Overall, I took 7 quarters of either beginner, intermediate or advanced courses at De Anza, with Jim as my primary teacher.

I saw him once years later and thanked him for helping me build a solid base that provided a good foundation when I began my competitive shooting career. Back when I saw him, I was at the height of my career, and he told me he had been following my successes.

I hope he continued to track my career, and he should feel proud about the difference he made in his student’s life.

This winter, I looked up Jim’s address. He lives several hours away, so I wanted to send him a note of gratitude and cookies to express how deeply grateful I am for how well he taught me the fundamentals of shooting and handling a firearm. Unfortunately, I only have a post office box address.

Go To Full Article

en_USEN