三星/四星 《巾幗槍神  世界冠軍之路》是顧方蓁在作家賈斯汀.帕爾(Justin Pahl)協助下出版的回憶錄。從小在中國傳統價值觀薰陶下長大的方蓁,講述了她在男性主導的射擊運動中成長的經歷。她訴說她在努力遵守中國價值之際走上時射擊運動道路時所面臨的各種挑戰。有點諷刺是,方蓁大半生都怕槍,有一次她無意間開槍走火之後,才正式面對對槍支的恐懼。

方蓁的故事中有成功也有失敗;照顧家庭、管理事業、參加射擊競賽,周旋忙碌於三者之間有時可能形成重壓。儘管如此,方蓁沒有一次抱怨,只是繼續盡她的本職。方蓁希望透過她的故事來激勵女性,尤其是那些對射擊運動感興趣的女性。

我感覺方蓁的決心非常鼓舞人心,因為她展現出渴望克服在自己的家庭、所經營的生意和射擊運動上所面臨的許多挑戰。我也非常欣賞她要與讀者之間建立起溝通默契。她能以鮮活的筆觸刻畫出她所經歷的各種痛苦時刻,無論是遭受傷心的背叛、練靶後受傷,或是在事業受到龐大財務損失後設法重振,讀者都能感同身受。方蓁的感情起伏透過這些描述盡都流露而力透紙背。

在作者筆下,新、舊故事與情節不斷穿梭。耐人尋味的是,方蓁的章節雖然會來回跳動,但故事敘述的流暢並未受此擾亂。方蓁非常喜歡自我挑戰與自己競爭,經常設定目標,因為這些目標有利於她不斷往前與進步。方蓁強調挑戰時期耐心、專注與決心的重要性,而她視挑戰為學習機會與發現真是自我的方式,也非常具有啟發性。

方蓁對上帝的信仰、對運動射擊的熱情,是她遇到麻煩時幫助她度過難關的原因。她把她的問題看作上帝要她學的功課,尤其是碰到為人父母者可能經歷的最糟糕的情況 ——失去孩子時。她喜歡把自己推到她舒適區之外,從不讓自己是在男人世界中競賽的現實影響她的表現或阻止她追求夢想。她明智地鼓勵我們,為要儘自我最大努力,你既不需在乎別人,也不能擔心他們要怎樣。

本書如此有趣和鼓舞人心,我欣然給它四星中的四星評價。作者極強調克服挑戰,我會推薦這本書給任何希望得到啟發和鼓舞的人。 (滿分四星)

《巾幗槍神  三星/四星 的原文評論 (原文出處為線上讀書俱樂部.

zh_TWZH_TW

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Review by Jerry Shaphan, Published Mar 16, 2020

The Most Unlikely Champion is a memoir by Vera Koo assisted by writer Justin Pahl. Raised in traditional Chinese values, Vera recounts her experiences as she rose in a male-dominated sport, sport-shooting. She also tells of the various challenges she faced as she struggled to observe the Chinese values while also taking her own path in sport-shooting. Vera ironically had been scared of guns for a greater part of her life and had to face her fear of guns after she accidentally fired a gun.

Vera’s story involves success and failure as she juggles between serving her family, managing their business and competing in sport shooting all of which would weigh her down sometimes. Despite all this, Vera not once complained but she carried out her duties. Through her story, Koo hopes to inspire women especially those interested in sport-shooting.

I found Vera’s determination to be inspiring as she demonstrated her eagerness to overcome the many challenges she faced both from her family, business and sport-shooting. I also loved how she connected with the reader. She was able to bring out the excruciating moments she went through because of her descriptive skills to make the reader understand the pain she felt both from her heartbreaking betrayals to her injuries in the sport to her experiences in reviving their business after a great loss. Through all this, Vera was able to fully express her emotions.

The book switched between the author’s most recent and past experiences. It was intriguing since Vera would go back and forth from chapter to chapter but this did not disrupt the flow of the story. Vera greatly loved to compete against herself often setting goals for herself and once she would overcome them she would set new goals as they helped her move forward and improve herself. Vera emphasizes the importance of patience, focus and determination during challenging periods and it was also inspiring how she took challenges as learning opportunities and a way to discover who she really was.

Vera’s faith in God and passion for sport-shooting are what helped her whenever she was facing trouble. She took her problems to be lessons from God especially when she faced the worst thing a parent could go through – losing a child. She loved to push herself beyond her normal comfort zones and Vera never let the fact that she was a woman in a man’s world affect her performance or stop her from pursuing her dreams. She wisely encourages that in order to do your best; you can neither pay attention to others nor worry about what they do.

Being so intriguing and inspiring, I was delighted to rate the book 4 out of 4 stars. The author heavily emphasizing on overcoming challenges, I would recommend this book to anyone looking to be inspired and motivated.

Original review of The Most Unlikely Champion can be found here.